Sorry Puritan Geeks, I Love The Idea of a Female Doctor

For those who don’t know me, then – as I begin this article – I am going to inform you that I am a die hard Whovian, have been since I was about 8 years old. As I came into contact with Feminism and its benefits, I grew to be a little frustrated with it. This isn’t me being politically correct but I genuinely believe that, under Steven Moffat’s reign as showrunner, women were either under-represented or ill-represented. Maybe I was being finicky. I thought that Amy Pond had never really been given opportunity to have a life aside from her obsession with the Doctor. I felt like Clara could have been so much more than she was. Bill seemed too stereotypical for my liking (don’t worry, I had similar issues with female characters in Sherlock – trust me Molly Hooper can be so much more). So, when it was announced that Jodie Whittaker would be taking over from Peter Capaldi, I was over the moon.

giphy

The thing is that some Twitter users, many of them male, are against it. Who would have thought?

giphy1.gif

The thing is, if you paid attention, then you’d realise that they started to set this up around about the point that The Master became Missy. It really did set things up and – because she was a villain – people were seemingly okay with it.

2

However, the moment the hero became female, the ability for a Time Lord to turn into a Time Lady (through regeneration) became a problem. Never mind the fact that Jodie Whittaker is a remarkably talented actress (you need not look further than her role as Beth Latimer in Broadchurch to know that).

The thing that male fans need to understand is that women have almost always been represented as being tied to a man. Even feminist writers do this to prove the need for a discussion about women. By allowing the Doctor, a traditionally male character, to regenerate into a female, Chris Chibnall (a fabulous writer – again, recommending you watch Broadchurch for proof of that) opens a closed door. Bear in mind that Tumblr was – for the past few years – awash with pleas for a female Doctor. Hayley Atwell, who played Marvel badass Peggy Carter, was one actress who many of us loved for the part. Women have been asking for this for years. So, yes, maybe this is the result of PC-Culture but I am proud to be from the generation who got the benefit of seeing a female doctor. Frankly, I don’t care what anyone else thinks on that matter.

 

 

Leave a Reply

